Intro Courses

Due to the potential threat of the coronavirus, the Melbourne Budokai Committee has decided to close the Kenshikan dojo and suspend all activity there.  This decision will be reviewed on an ongoing basis.  The committee is sorry to do this but is appropriate in light of what's been happening in the community.  We hope you understand this decision.

 

For anyone interested in starting either Kendo, Iaido or Naginata for the first time please see the information below regarding the next introductory courses for each of the respective arts.  People are invited to visit the dojo during any of our normal training sessions (see the "ARTS" page on this website for our training session times).  If you have any inquiries you can email the club's secretary at secretary@melbournebudokai.com.au.

All of the courses are designed for people who have had no experience in any of these arts....or any other martial art.  So they are suited for absolute beginners and people who have had experience with other martial arts.

Kendo

Course Start Dates (2020):
  • Course 1 - Wednesday 5th February to Sunday 26th April
  • Course 2 - Wednesday 10th June to Sunday 16th August
  • Course 3 - Wednesday 7th October to Sunday 13th December
Details:
 
Cost:  $160 for adults, $120 for students, $100 for kids 15 years old and under
Duration:   10 weeks
Course Days:  Wednesdays 7:00pm to 9:30pm and  Sundays 5:30pm to 8:00pm.
 
You will have to purchase a shinai (a bamboo sword) if you don't already have one.  They cost $50 and can be purchased at the dojo.
 
 
Bring the filled in form with you on the first Wedenesday of the course.
 

 

Iaido

Course Start Dates (2020):
  • Course 1 - Tuesday 3rd March to Thursday 26th March
  • Course 2 - Tuesday 7th July to Thursday 30th July
  • Course 3 - Tuesday 10th November to Thursday 3rd December
Details:

Cost:  $40

Duration:  4 weeks
Course Days:  Tuesdays and Thursdays 6:00pm to 7:30pm.

You will be provided with a bokken (a wooden sword) to use.

Iaido Intro Course Application Form.pdf 

 

Naginata

Course Start Dates (2020):
  • Course 1 - Saturday 9th May to Saturday 27th June
  • Course 2 - Saturday 31st October to Saturday 5th December
Details:


Cost:  $60 for adults, $40 for students/kids

Duration:  6 weeks
Course Days:  Saturdays 10:30am to 12:30pm.

You will be provided with a naginata (an oak shaft with a curved bamboo blade substitute).

Naginata Intro Course Application Form.pdf

 

 

All content and Images Copyright © 2020 Melbourne Budokai
Powered by eSolidus Suite